Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

SSL

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

USMMA is closed to the public until further notice. The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) is available at  Coronavirus.gov. For USMMA specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Marine Transportation Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone  E-mail
CAPT Fiaz Arain Professor Emeritus   arainf@usmma.edu
Prof. Paul Barchitta Associate Professor (516) 726-5882 barchittap@usmma.edu
CDR Matthew Bonvento Assistant Professor (516)-726-5854 bonventom@usmma.edu
CDR William B. Brewer Associate Professor (516) 726-5864 brewerb@usmma.edu
Pete Buhse Electronic Technician (516) 726-5886  buhsep@usmma.edu
Prof. Mario Castillo Adjunct Professor   castillom@usmma.edu
LT Joseph Castro, USCG USCG Liaison (516) 726-5635 uscgc@usmma.edu
CDR Kevin Clarke Associate Professor (516) 726-5885 clarkek@usmma.edu
CAPT Dennis Compton Professor Emeritus   comptond@usmma.edu
Prof. Dennis Cooney Adjunct Professor   cooneyd@usmma.edu
CDR Sarah Daleo Assistant Professor (516) 726-5870 daleos@usmma.edu
CAPT Preston DeJean Interim Academic Dean/Associate Professor (516) 726-5299 dejeand@usmma.edu
CAPT George Edenfield Professor (516) 726-5874 edenfieldg@usmma.edu
Prof. Sean Fitzsimons Adjunct Professor (516) 726-5834 fitzsimonss@usmma.edu
Prof. Andrew Garger Adjunct Professor   gargera@usmma.edu
Prof. David Gilmartin Associate Professor (516) 726-5887 gilmartind@usmma.edu
Jade Girani Staff Assistant (516) 726-5872  livorsij@usmma.edu
Dr. Chang Qian Guan Professor, Assistant Department Head (516) 726-5880  guanq@usmma.edu
LCDR Louis Guzzo Adjunct Professor (516) 726-5859  guzzol@usmma.edu
CAPT Brian Hall Professor (516) 726-5871  hallb@usmma.edu
CAPT Douglas Hard Professor Emeritus   hardd@usmma.edu
CAPT Kevin Hasson Associate Professor (516) 726-5892 hassonk@usmma.edu
CDR Carolyn Hunter Associate Professor (516) 726-5627 hunterc@usmma.edu
CAPT Jon Helmick Professor, Director Maritime Logistics and Security Program (516) 726-5855  helmickj@usmma.edu
CDR Ronald Jablonski Adjunct Professor (516) 726-5864  jablonskir@usmma.edu
CDR John Lutz Associate Professor (516) 726-5851  lutzj@usmma.edu
Prof. Elizabeth McCarthy Adjunct Professor   mccarthym@usmma.edu
CAPT Charles (Buck) McDermott Associate Professor (516) 726-5608 mcdermottm@usmma.edu
Prof. Timothy McLellan Assistant Professor (516) 726-5862 mclellanm@usmma.edu
CAPT Bob Meurn Professor Emeritus   meurnb@usmma.edu
CAPT David Moskoff Professor (516) 726-5856  moskoffd@usmma.edu
CAPT Emil Muccin Associate Professor (516) 726-5879  muccine@usmma.edu
CAPT Michael Murphy Associate Professor, Department Head (516) 726-5665 murphym@usmma.edu
CAPT Scott Nicholas Associate Professor (516) 726-5890 nicholass@usmma.edu
Last updated: Monday, March 2, 2020

Now Accepting Applications for the Class of 2025

Learn more about the requirements and expectations of Midshipmen.