Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

SSL

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Marine Transportation Faculty and Staff

Name

Title

Phone 

E-mail

CAPT Fiaz Arain

Professor Emeritus

 

ArainF@usmma.edu

Prof. Paul Barchitta

Associate Professor

516-726-5882

BarchittaP@usmma.edu

CDR Matthew Bonvento

Assistant Professor

516-726-5854

BonventoM@usmma.edu

CDR William B. Brewer

Associate Professor

516-726-5864

BrewerW@usmma.edu

Pete Buhse

Electronic Technician

516-726-5886 

PBuhse@usmma.edu

LT Brian Bonomi, USCG

USCG Liaison

516-726-5635

BonomiB@usmma.edu

CAPT Kevin Clarke

Associate Professor

516-726-5885

ClarkeK@usmma.edu

CDR Dennis Compton

Professor Emeritus

 

ComptonD@usmma.edu

Prof. Dennis Cooney

Adjunct Professor

 

CooneyD@usmma.edu

CDR Sarah Bulaclac

Associate Professor

516-726-5870

BulaclacS@usmma.edu

CAPT Preston De Jean

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Associate Professor

516-726-5299

DejeanP@usmma.edu

CAPT George Edenfield

Full Professor

516-726-5874

EdenfieldG@usmma.edu

Prof. Sean Fitzsimons

Adjunct Professor

516-726-5834

FitzsimonsS@usmma.edu

Prof. Andrew Garger

Adjunct Professor

 

GargerA@usmma.edu

Prof. David Gilmartin

Associate Professor

516-726-5887

GilmartinD@usmma.edu

Jade Livorsi

Staff Assistant

516-726-5872 

LivorsiJ@usmma.edu

Dr. Chang Qian Guan

Full Professor

516-726-5880 

GuanC@usmma.edu

CAPT Louis Guzzo

Adjunct Professor

516-726-5859 

GuzzoL@usmma.edu

CAPT Brian Hall

Professor Emeritus

516-726-5871 

HallB@usmma.edu

CAPT Douglas Hard

Professor Emeritus

 

HardD@usmma.edu

CAPT Kevin Hasson

Department Head

Full Professor

516-726-5892

HassonK@usmma.edu

CDR Carolyn Hunter

Assistant Department Head

Associate Professor

516-726-5627

HunterC@usmma.edu

CAPT Jon Helmick

Professor Emeritus

516-726-5855 

HelmickJ@usmma.edu

CDR Ronald Jablonski

Adjunct Professor

516-726-5864 

JablonskiR@usmma.edu

CAPT John Lutz

Associate Professor

516-726-5851 

LutzJ@usmma.edu

Prof. Elizabeth McCarthy

Adjunct Professor

 

Elizabeth.Mccarthy.CTR@usmma.edu

CAPT Charles (Buck) McDermott

Associate Professor

516-726-5608

McdermottC@usmma.edu

Prof. Timothy McLellan

Associate Professor

516-726-5862

MclellanT@usmma.edu

CAPT Bob Meurn

Professor Emeritus

 

MeurnB@usmma.edu

CAPT David Moskoff

Full Professor

516-726-5856 

MoskoffD@usmma.edu

CAPT Michael Murphy

Associate Professor

516-726-5665

MurphyM@usmma.edu

CAPT Scott Nicholas

Full Professor

516-726-5890

NicholasS@usmma.edu

CDR Ryan O’Toole

Assistant Professor

516-726-5868

OtooleR@usmma.edu

CAPT Cynthia Robson

Full Professor

516-726-5869

RobsonC@usmma.edu

CAPT Jamie Rock

Associate Professor

516-726-5869

RockJ@usmma.edu

CAPT John Ryan

Full Professor

516-726-5875

RyanJ@usmma.edu

CAPT George Sandberg

Professor Emeritus

 

SandbergG@usmma.edu

Dr. Peter Schneider

Associate Professor

516-726-5875

SchneiderP@usmma.edu

CAPT Timothy Tisch Ph.D.

Full Professor

516-726-5863

TischT@usmma.edu

CAPT Sean Tortora

Associate Professor

516-726-5891

TortoraS@usmma.edu

Dr. Hsinrong Wei

Associate Professor

516-726-5873

WeiH@usmma.edu

CAPT James Zatwarnicki

Associate Professor

516-726-5688

ZatwarnickiJ@usmma.edu

Last updated: Monday, January 9, 2023

Applications for the Class of 2027 Open May 1

Learn more about the requirements and expectations of Midshipmen.