Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

SSL

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

USMMA is closed to the public until further notice. The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) is available at  Coronavirus.gov. For USMMA specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Department of Mathematics and Science

When fully staffed, the Department of Math & Science consists of 14 full-time teaching faculty as well as several part-time faculties.

Full-time Faculty & Staff

 

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Socrates Boussios Assistant Professor (516) 726-5769  boussioss@usmma.edu
Dr. Laurence Cassar Professor Emeritus (516) 726-5780  No Academy email
Dr. David Dellwo Professor Emeritus (516) 726-5780   No Academy email
Dr. Jerry Doumas Professor (516) 726-5773  doumasj@usmma.edu
Dr. Nathaniel Cooper Assistant Professor (516) 726-5839  coopern@usmma.edu
Dr. Daniel Fong Associate Professor (516) 726-5739   fongd@usmma.edu
Dr. Joshua Friedman Professor (516) 726-5766   friedmanj@usmma.edu
Dr. Ping Furlan Professor (516) 726-5783   furlanp@usmma.edu
Dr. Nakeya Williams Assistant Professor (516) 726-5778   williamsn@usmma.edu
Dr. Mark Hogan Professor, Dept Head (516) 726-5779  hoganm@usmma.edu
Dr. Michael Melcer Professor, Asst. Dept. Head (516) 726-5763  melcerm@usmma.edu
Dr. Alexander Retakh Associate Professor (516) 726-5781  retakha@usmma.edu
Dr. Robert Ronkese Assistant Professor (516) 726-5777   ronkeser@usmma.edu
 Dr. Pamela Bryant Laboratory Manager (516) 726-5768  bryantp@usmma.edu
Dr. Paul Serafino Assistant Professor (516) 726-5776  serafinop@usmma.edu
Dr. David Shinn Associate Professor (516) 726-5782   shinnd@usmma.edu
Dr. Kimani Stancil Assistant Professor (516) 726-5662   stancilk@usmma.edu
Dr. Al Stwertka Professor Emeritus (516) 726-5662   No Academy email
Dr. Charles Weber Professor Emeritus (516) 726-5770  weberc@usmma.edu
Mrs. Christine Zwillick Staff Assistant (516) 726-5764  zwillickc@usmma.edu

Last updated: Monday, March 2, 2020

Now Accepting Applications for the Class of 2025

Learn more about the requirements and expectations of Midshipmen.